Spooktober, Borrasca, and Horror adventures

October is finally here! The month of wicked delights, a time to become anything your heart desires, pumpkin spice, Halloween, and most importantly, my birthday. I will officially be closer to 30 than 20. This month also has two full moons, the first of which is a Harvest Moon and the second a Blue Moon. To say the least, it will be a very powerful month. I’ve decide to do two challenges, a picture and a reading challenge. I want to read a horror/scary/lovecraftian short story each day and do a review along with my picture of the day. It’s a bit of a large undertaking but I think I will succeed!

     My daily challenge is one from instagram from users thereaderbee and loriimagines. I’m so excited for this fun October and Halloween themed challenge. Today was my October TBR which, even though it is only three books, it might be a stretch with my daily horror story and the couple books I’m behind on for my indie book reads. I will try though! I do have vacation this month. Not pictured is Midnight Sun, which I hope to at least start before I visit the Olympic Peninsula for my annual birthday trip. It will be my plane book for sure!

      My brother recommended my first read, Borrasca by C.K Walker (link here). The four part story follows Sam, who moves to a small town in the Ozarks, and befriends Kimber and Kyle. They show him a disturbing tree house with a strange ritual and he learns of the Borrasca, a terrifying place with loud disturbing noises. His new friends warn him to never go there. Shortly after the move, his sister goes missing, her name carved into the tree, but she is presumed a run away. Years later, a teenager and troublemaker, Sam begins to investigate the strange events that start to unfold in his small town and more girls begin to dissappear. It all culminates in a shocking and disturbing ending that I’m still thinking about hours later.

       This story is so fantasticly written. Despite being short, each character is flushed out, the plot is rich and compelling, and I was hooked from beginning to end. It wasn’t too terrifying for a novice horror reader but easily fit the reddit category it was under: no sleep. I highly recommend taking the time to read it.

      If you have an recommendations for more horror short stories, send them my way booksbyjenblog@gmail.com

Follow my picture challenge on Instagram @booksbyjen

Now I am off to listen to the podcast version of this stoy starring Cole Sprouse on Spotify! Wish me luck! Happy reading book demons and happy spooktober!

Note, I probabaly won’t post a daily review but one every couple days. 31 posts in 31 days may just be too much! Until then! Stay witchy! Drink cided! Maybe don’t summon demons.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started